How Did This Presentation Reassure You About Future Plans?

For the longest time, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do with my life. I had a lot of ideas, but they would always change within a few years. Now as I’m looking into colleges, I still have no idea what I want to do with my life. I worried that I would waste time–and money–in college, trying to figure myself out.  Dr. Darren Collins came to speak to us about ecology and the College of the Atlantic. During his presentation, he told us about how he himself had switched around a lot. One moment he was researching wolves somewhere in the Northern Territory, and the next he was studying the economic impact of taimen fisheries in Mongolia. As he elaborated on his study of the wolves, and told us in detail about how close he had been to these creatures in their natural habitat, it began to spark an interest in me. Dr. Collins told us about how interesting it was to be immersed in the local culture throughout his research, and all the new things he had learned as a result.  He later told us about a colleague of his who was obsessed with compost, and all the different interdisciplinary classes she took to perfect her angle on its uses. That was really reassuring to me, because I planned on taking a lot of classes in college to narrow down my interests as well. Walking away from this presentation, I realized that if these people can change their career paths in so many ways and still be successful, then there is hope for me too.

This entry was posted in AP Biology. Bookmark the permalink.