Zoobiquity!

Walking into the auditorium to hear the authors of “Zoobiquity,” I wasn’t sure what to expect. Well, I didn’t think it would fascinate me as it did because to be honest, animals aren’t my favorite topic. I was pleasantly surprised to learn that animals, and animal biology parallel that of humans and that studying animal biology can better the understanding of human diseases.

Barbara Natterson and Kathryn Bowers, the two authors of the book, were inspiring women. Their love for science and aptitude for research was captivating. I never once felt bored of hearing them because they were really passionate about what they researched. I also enjoyed the bits and pieces of humor the audience got from them. At one point, the conversation was about addiction found in animals! Specifically, the book mentions a dog that would like the top of a frog. When researchers looked more into the matter, they found that the dog was “addicted” to the toxins found on the frog’s front side.

Something I really enjoyed was the fact that the two authors were very different – one was an MD and the other wasn’t. The way they approached questions really gave me a holistic picture of their mission and the book. Natterson, the MD, mostly talked about the scientific aspect of their research while Bowers talked about relating the science to larger concepts, like adolescents. Also, I enjoyed the fact that the conversation included parts of veterinarians and doctors. I found it praiseworthy that Natterson discusses the importance of vets in not only helping animal patients but indirectly aiding human patients.

Overall, I really enjoyed the event and felt that I learned a couple new things. Although I enjoy biology, I, like the MD snobs described by Natterson, didn’t really understand and fully appreciate veterinarians and their work. After this lecture, I am more interested in the parallels that exist between animal and human diseases/disorders.

The funniest part of the event was this:

What do you call a vet who only treats one species? – A physician (haha)

This entry was posted in Chicago Humanities Festival. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

