Tracing our Ancestors

Professor Rick Kittles is a very inspirational character who flawlessly expressed his passion for exploring his ancestry. He explained that many African-Americans highly value the importance of understanding their ancestry because of the Trans Atlantic Slave Trade nearly 300 years ago. While this was interesting for other members of the audience, I found it to be dull.

I was misled by the title of his talk into thinking that he would explain the details of tracing DNA that would not be covered in Honors or AP Biology. I was disappointed as I realized that his talk resembled  an AP US history class. He dove into the topics specific to his ethnicity and history that I could not relate to. Though his topics were interesting, they were dry at the same time and I quickly lost interest. He did not introduce any new topics or points of interest that were not already covered in Honors Biology, and instead he decided to focus more on African genes and phenotypic traits.

He made a few interesting points about how intermixed our DNA is from ethnicities all over the world, and I will never forget that the most amount of genetic variation is found in Africa, since humanities is rooted there. But, if anything, that only confirmed what I learned as a sixth grader- it was only repeated information. I believe his talk was biased and dull. I was expecting to learn material that a CPS education would not be able to offer me, but instead it covered topics that I previously learned from biology and US history.

This entry was posted in Chicago Humanities Festival, Evolution. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

